top of page

Vow Renewing - When Once is not enough.

I love that people want to renew their wedding vows - and why shouldn't they?


When we get married, we sometimes think back on it later and wish we had changed something. I know I did, and my hubby and I did it our way anyway.


So if you've been together for a few years, and you are still madly and passionately in love, why not have a ceremony to renew your vows.


Barry and Michelle have been married for 10 years this year. They've also been my friends for almost as long. Theirs is a long distance love story with a happy ending. Meeting online through a game (how modern), the move for one from Ireland to Australia to establish a new life - that's a huge risk in itself. But it's one that paid off.


These two got married in June, but this time around, they wanted a beach ceremony.

Melbourne + Winter + Beach = Oh My!


Fortunately (and I am forever grateful for this), rather than renew their vows in the middle of winter, they opted for a combined birthday/vows ceremony in March. And as it turned out, we only had to battle the wind. The rest of the weather was perfect.


Beach Therapy

Venus Bay is gorgeous. The tide obliged us by going out further than we needed, but still made a magnificent backdrop. The sun was shining, but not too hot and there were very few clouds.


And the wind - have you ever tried to project your voice in a wind tunnel? I am guessing No, why would you? But you get my point.

With the wind came the sand, there was sand everywhere. I mean really ,EVERYWHERE! I am still emptying it out of my carry case and car. But I digress......



Aren't they cute?

Friends and family all stood in a circle....eventually, it was hard to get them there initially.

People are used to standing on one side of a couple traditionally. When I get them in a circle they get totally confused.


Fortunately I was ably assisted by Black Tan, creatrix of the Besom and there was lots of laughter and shuffling around. Energy was high and being in a circle meant that everyone was included. It was a small intimate gathering....if you don't include the general beachgoers spread out along the sand. All of whom were very polite and respectful for the time we were doing the ceremony. And there was so much room, they could afford to be.


Back of the surf club, for the reception everyone signed the Certificate - I do this on non official documents that the couple will be keeping so that a piece of paper becomes a memory - those nearest and dearest are recorded forever..


Everyone there ate drank and was very merry, whilst I made myself scarce for a while and enjoyed the blustery beauty that was the beach, ocean waves and birds.


Handfasting (cord made by Tan and moi), jumping the Besom (besom made by La Tan), sand ceremony for a keepsake (which included sand from the beach), Dinosaurs, mead, abundant delicious food and geekery.


Really what more could you ask for?


Pre Ceremony

Michelle and Barry, you have weathered lows and you have celebrated highs. Only the two of you really know how far you have come in your relationship. As your friends and family surround you, know that as it was before, it will be forever. That you are husband and wife
The end of a perfect weekend

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page