top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Blyth

From Victoria to Queensland - 35 years in the making

When you are a wedding vendor, especially a celebrant, you know that when you are booked for a family or friends wedding, it's going to be special. There can be no guarantee given of 'no tears'.


Such was the case when I had the honour of being celebrant for my dearest friend of nearly 40 years when she married the love of her life up in Sunny Queensland in March.

Hubby and I flew up to meet her soon to be husband Gary in November, and it was the first time in many many years that Jodie and I had spent time together. There were tears and laughter, our terrible memories weren't bad enough that we couldn't remember some of the funny things we did as teens. Our poor menfolk just looked a little bewildered at our silliness and fun. But it was a wonderful weekend away.


And somewhere in there we managed to talk weddings and get their paperwork done.



Fast forward to March and Queensland has not turned on her best weather. In fact, we are talking storms. Storms that you can only get in Queensland. Being a Victorian, I am optimistic....NOT!



Celebrant and florist - I do not recommend doing both at one time

So I did what every celebrant does, and organised the flower arrangements and bouquet. :)

Jodie organised our hair and makeup, and I really loved that time of it being just us. I've missed her a lot since she moved up north, and I know she feels the same.


All the while, Jodie and I were watching the set up crew organise the ceremony space.......in the park, next to the beach.

Truth be told, they did an awesome job. It looked beautiful.

So it was more than a little heartbreaking when the rain came down in torrents, and it became clear that our beautiful bride (and trusty celebrant sidekick) were not going to be able to walk anywhere.





The girls


As you can see, it was all gloom and doom with us. Despite my hair flopping with the humidity, and the realisation that there would not be a wedding outside - there would be a wedding, no matter what.







Our couple finally made the decision to hold the ceremony inside the Hall. There was no chance to set up any props but they had a stage, and they had the guest seating, so at least we had somewhere that would be comfortable and dry. Warmth was not a problem, it is never cold up there - from a Victorian perspective.


The original outdoor setup

Jodie and her father walked in. She looked gorgeous, and the smile she gave Gary was stunning to see. He, of course, was blown away at the sight of her. It does my heart good to see 2 people I love so happy.





Nothing can stop true love. Not rain, or winds, or Queensland storms.


I can see the strengths in each of these gorgeous people works well with the other. They have a true partnership. They clearly adore each other, and Gary's strong, gentle nature is perfect for my friend, the born nurturer. They truly are each others best friend and support.



 

Mouthful of Forevers

by Clementine von Radics


I am not the first person you loved. You are not the first person I looked at with a mouthful of forevers. We have both known loss like the sharp edges of a knife. We have both lived with lips more scar tissue than skin. Our love came unannounced in the middle of the night. Our love came when we’d given up on asking love to come. I think that has to be part of its miracle.

This is how we heal. I will kiss you like forgiveness. You will hold me like I’m hope. Our arms will bandage and we will press promises between us like flowers in a book. I will write sonnets to the salt of sweat on your skin. I will write novels to the scar of your nose. I will write a dictionary of all the words I have used trying to describe the way it feels to have finally, finally found you.

And I will not be afraid of your scars.

I know sometimes it’s still hard to let me see you in all your cracked perfection, but please know: whether it’s the days you burn more brilliant than the sun or the nights you collapse into my lap your body broken into a thousand questions, you are the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. I will love you when you are a still day. I will love you when you are a hurricane.


Jodes and Gaz, Always remember to look to each other before you let the outside world look in on you.

You have an unbreakable connection that is built on love, respect, understanding and commitment, and that is a rare thing in todays world. Cherish it and may you have a long and happy life together with more joy than sadness and more highs than lows.


Thank you for letting me be a part of your special day. Love you both.


Nic

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page