top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Blyth

Here come the Grooms

Weddings always get me in the feels.


I think that is why I love them so much, and it's a different love than what I feel for funerals. Any time that I see people expressing real, open, honest love is what always chokes me up - even after so many years and ceremonies. But I've never never felt embarrassed about that.


Like many thousands of people, I've been vocal about marriage equality. This isn't a political post however. It is simply a post to celebrate the Love that was finally able to be recognised.


On a rainy and cold June day, I had the honour of being part of my first same gender legal marriage. Referred though a very kind friend, Mike and Pete decided to hold their day at Avalon Castle in Cockatoo, set amongst towering trees with plenty of birdlife, even in the middle of winter.


So much laughter in this ceremony, as well as tears of joy

The Venue

I already posted about Avalon Castle after I had been for this weddings rehearsal here.


Needless to say, even in the cold, and rain this is a beautiful venue. In fact, in those elements that it stands out even more



The Gazebo - to wet for us to use, but still stunning

We were tucked up nice and warm in the Chapel

The staff from Avalon Castle are always lovely. Very helpful and welcoming. They're very active on Instagram if you'd like to check them out here


The Ceremony


Mike's family is Jewish, so he wanted to honour that, whereas Pete was more earthy Think Hobbit holes and Tolkein. So my challenge was to come up with a ceremony that worked with both. My ancestry is Jewish, I enjoyed researching that, and being the geek I am, who is married to an even greater geek, Hobbitstyle was not a problem. Fortunately, both of them knew what they wanted, and were ready with suggestions, which also makes it so much easier for me. It's their ceremony and story, I am just the author.


The most beautiful aspect of this ceremony, aside from the laughter, was the involvement of family and friends. I loved that so many people were included. Mums, Dad, friends, everyone. It was a cast of many, and that made it great.


There were Unity Candles direct from Israel, a tie-dyed Chuppah, readings, poems, blessings, breaking of the glass.......





I was fortunate enough to attend the reception afterwards, which was held in the main building.


The food was buffet style and plentiful, you could go up for second breakfast but I only managed firsts. There was much laughter, dancing and merriment. These two are completely surrounded by so much love and support from their community.


And the cake! You have never seen anything like this cake. It was magnificent (tasted delicious btw)

I have always said cake makers should be classified as artists, some are truly gifted.



When your cake is so massive, you need a sword to cut it

Mike and Pete are lovely gentlemen. And I was so excited to be able to do their ceremony. I managed to keep my emotions in check until that final moment, where I pronounced them to be Husband and Husband, legally married. My voice cracked, and the lump in my throat got a little bigger, and a few of the guests had the tears flowing with joy and happiness.


But there you have it, even we professionals can get overwhelmed by Love.


Mike, Moi and Pete Photo by Royal Memories Photography

" In Third Age on Middle Earth, the world was ruled by rings of power, rings forged with hatred and malice to wield destruction. By love and hope, and by malice's own self-deception was the last of those rings brought to its end.
Today, we have new rings of power, as many as bonds of love are sworn. These rings are powerful indeed, for they have been forged by unconditional and overflowing love to unite two souls, that they might accomplish more as one than as individuals ever could. With these rings, each couple has their stake in the rule of the world. And now that we have forged our rings, come rule the world with me."

Thank you boys, it was an honour

xx


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page