top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Blyth

My Kingdom for a Castle!

Updated: Oct 21, 2018

I've always loved castles!


Apart from the whole 'die at a young age because disease was rampant and live poor all your life' thing, the term medieval brings us thoughts of royalty, the chance to marry a king (hopefully not be beheaded by him) and lush robes of luxurious materials. Some people love the idea of peasant life - just ask any of the millions of cosplayers or reenactment enthusiasts.


So when I get the chance to visit anything that has that old world appeal of a castle in Australia (not known for our medieval times), and the possibility of being part of a wedding at said establishment, I take it.


Yesterday I did a pre-wedding visit to Avalon Castle here in Cockatoo, Victoria's outer east.


Beautiful venue to say the least.


Coming up the driveway, you suddenly see the bluestone building from the carpark. When I say it looms above you, it really looms. The slope isn't too drastic, and there is plenty to look at as you walk up the pathways.


To the left is the chapel. A gorgeous, ivy covered long building. Inside are pews for seating and it's heated for those chilly Melbourne winters we are well known for. Up the end of the aisle is a well lit sanctuary area large enough to accommodate the happy couple and wedding party. The chapel itself is large enough to seat a moderate amount of guests, and there's standing room at the back. Very comfy and cosy, but not cramped.


I didn't get a chance to view all of the interior of the main building (I was working after all), however what I did see is gorgeous. Lots of steps, so I would suggest checking the wheelchair access and mobility issues, which I am sure the staff are already across.




There's even a gazebo, secret garden and fountain in the gardens, so plenty of places to wander and sit. Being out in Cockatoo, there's abundant bird-life, even on a Winter morning.

Entrance to the Secret Garden

I am a celebrant, not affiliated with Avalon Castle. As a venue, I was impressed. As a professional, I was even more impressed with the staff I met, who were all lovely and dedicated to their clients and myself, the hanger on.

As a celebrant I found Avalon to be different and welcoming. They extended professional courtesy to me that I don't always come across in other vendors That makes this venue even more appealing to me, and I hope to work with them more in the future.


check them out at their website.


Check out My Instagram Page - IvyWed Weddings by Nicole


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page